Everyday Women on Being Women

Interviews with regular women on the ideas and concerns affecting them, everyday.

Follow WSW on Twitter @womansees.

Love & a “Time-clock” – Glenda, 35, Los Angeles

Romantic love is important to me. I’ve had some great romances. I know it’s possible and it’s a whirlwind when it does happen. I’m not in any rush to be with someone just so I won’t be alone. I don’t have a clock, like for a man or kids, or anything that’s dictating my decisions. It has to happen naturally. And if it doesn’t happen, I’m ok with it.

Season of Courage – Shayna, 37, Memphis

I know personally, this is a season of courage for me. It’s a season of courage for me to accept where I am, accept that where I am is not where I may have planned. My reality has not been my vision and I recognize that my timing is not God’s timing and clearly the plan that I had for myself was not the path that He had for me. It’s a very big season of courage for me for having the courage to accept where I am, and accept where I’m supposed to be – I mean, to the point that I’m getting ready to tattoo it on my body somewhere. 😉

Respecting Femininity w/o Sexualizing – Felicia, 45, Brooklyn

I wish we could maintain lady-like and still be seen as sexy. Sexy has taken over just a little bit too much. Soft sexy is what I would like to see, women do a little less sexy, a little more lady, a little more woman. Prime example. Do you remember Sheila E? She was one of the most prolific and profound percussionists in the world. Now, when I say people were all over the place wanting her to play on their records, but then when she finally hit the stage and became Sheila E, people were so focused on the sex kitten that she had become, they couldn’t hear her music anymore, and Prince warned her not to come out like that. He told her. He’s like stick to the music, stick to who you are. You’re a beautiful woman, don’t do sex cat overload because it’s going to diminish the music and then you’re going to disappear. And so she did it anyway. And the brilliance that she was disappeared with her. Beyonce? I think she could have some [artistic legitimacy] if she could sing first and stop screaming. She has a good voice, I guess. [As for WOC entertainers] not enough Alicia Keys, much to much Beyonce. Not enough musicians.

Younger Self and The Importance of Female Mentors – Blanca, 63, New Orleans

I would hate to go back to my 20s but I would go back to my late 30s. Not that I mind being this age. The old adage: I wish I’d known then what I’d known now, or I wish I had been more assertive, or challenged (not at work or career) but I mean more challenged in someone pushing me to be more or I had pushed myself to be more or I had been more confident to push myself. I wish I had been more confident at a younger age. I wish I was more cognizant of the fact that I could have been an entrepreneur at 40 or 45 but I didn’t know what I didn’t’ know. If I could arm myself with the knowledge that I had now, then, it would be quite different, my mindset or even career path. I would have maximized what I did more. Now – what I currently do now as my job, I have been very inspired by women I’ve met. What was missing when I grew up: I did not have the female mentors.

Happy International Women’s History Month! #WomensHistoryMonth #HerStory

#WomanSees

Leave a Reply

